top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJeren Beghler

A weekend in Trondheim


Trondheim is the third largest city in Norway. Located in the central Norway, it is one of the most visited city by tourists, especially in August, when the hottest weather occurs.

When I visited Trondheim, I was there in November, it was somewhat cold and rainy. I sometimes like it that way, because it gives a pleasant air and I loved the colours in the trees, as the leaves were red and yellow, making the nature more beautiful to look at.

I would definitely recommend to explore the nature, and do activities outside. Some of the things I spent my time doing there, was fishing and grilling with my friend, Andrea, who lives and studies in Trondheim. We went for fishing, it was very cold by the sea, but it was so much fun anyways! I caught a fish, for the first time ever! It was the highlight of the day!

I think it was a mackerel, I don't remember what type of fish it was. When we later came back home, we grilled it in a pan, and had it with boiled potatoes and some salad next to. It was delicious, and I loved it so much!

My friend and I also went for grilling outside, just by the sea. The view was awesome, beautiful and it was so nice to be out in the nature. We had with us some sausages with lomper and ketchup, later we had grilled marshmallows. It was super nice!

The next day, we visited the Nidaros Cathedral, the exact spot where King Olav Haraldsson was buried in 1030. 40 years later, the national sanctuary of Norway was built over the grave. The cathedral was built in Gothic style, and the work was finished around 1300. Because it was being damaged several times by fire, largely parts were in ruins, and extensive restorations begun in 1869.

The opening hours are:

Mon - Sat: 09 - 14

Sun: 09 - 17

Another thing Andrea and I did, was to visit Lykkens Portal, meaning Portal of Happiness at The Old Town Bridge.

Oh, and the view of Trondheim is increadible!

I will show you what I mean :)

At the far, just in the middle of this photo, you can see the Tyholt Tower, 74 meters high. At the top, there's a restaurant called Egon, with Scandinavian design, using wood and fake animals to make it look foresty.

In the restaurant, the floor rotates slowly, so you can see the whole Trondheim within an hour. You will be completely taken by the amazing view, and experience nice atmosphere with delicious food.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my experiences in Trondheim, and I will tell you this: the Tyholt Tower is the best attraction in Trondheim!

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page